South Australian Environment Awards 2015

On the evening of Thursday 17 December we celebrated the outstanding efforts and dedication those in our community caring for the South Australian environment. Read more about these inspiring winners!

Jill Hudson Award

2015 Jill Hudson Award winners Karina and Rose Lester work tirelessly to highlight the risks presented to our environment by nuclear projects. The Yankunytjatjara women and sisters have championed the voice of Aboriginal communities for the environment and provided essential dialogue for Traditional Owners.

While there are many dimensions to Karina and Rose’s work, the 2015 Jill Hudson Award focuses on their involvement in the SA Royal Commission into the Nuclear Fuel Cycle that began earlier this year. Karina and Rose advocated for consultation with Aboriginal communities and brought attention to the barriers presented for people in the community by the Royal Commission process.

Karina and Rose undertake their advocacy work as un-paid volunteers, and see it as a responsibility to culture, country and family.


Young Achievers Award

At age 10, 2015 Young Achiever Award winner Brianiee Albrighton came home from school and announced herself an environmentalist. 15 years later, Brianiee is a passionate advocate for the environment and valuable contributor to South Australia’s conservation sector.

Alongside a full work and study load (including a Diploma of Environmental Management), Briainee has volunteered countless hours to some of Australia’s most impactful conservation organisations.

In November this year, Brianiee helped realise the record-breaking People’s Jobs, Justice and Climate March through the streets of Adelaide. Through her work with World Environment Day and the Wilderness Society, Briainee has inspired other young people to engage with conservation, help preserve wilderness areas and use their voices to create change.

Congratulations to Young Achiever Award Runner-Up Maddison Turley and Finalists with Commendation Lovisa Muyderman and Maddie Sarre.


Unsung Hero Award

Dedicated Natural Resource Management officer and environmental crusader Janet Walton is this year’s Unsung Hero. For the past nine years Janet has been based in Coober Pedy, with her ‘patch’ covering thousands of square kilometres. Janet works to manage natural resources alongside pastoralists who have been on the land and survived in arid South Australia for generations.

In consultation with these pastoralists, Janet has developed and implemented effective ongoing plans to manage invasive weeds and pest plants, resulting in a significant reduction in plant numbers. Janet has worked tirelessly with a group of pastoralists who have committed to long term involvement in the Ecosystem Management Understanding (EMU) by focusing on soil erosion and long term sustainable land management.

Janet’s passion, commitment and tenacity has helped her establish lasting and respectful working relationships with the Coober Pedy community, pastoralists and broader communities in rural South Australia.

Congratulations to Unsung Hero Award Runner-Up Friends of Brownhill Creek & Brownhill Creek Association (nominations in the names of David Wagner and Ron Bellchambers) and Finalists with Commendation Kerry Gilkes, Brigitte Stevens and the Tennyson Dunes Group (nomination in the names of Nick Crouch and Val Wales).

A Special Award was granted to Tom Hands (deceased) & The Friends of the Scott Creek Conservation Park.

Conservation SA acknowledges all those who were nominated, and the many others working in their own way to support conservation and sustainability in South Australia.

Support us and get involved

Contact Conservation SA on (08) 8223 5155, [email protected], or at our offices at the Joinery at 111 Franklin Street, Adelaide.

Created using NationBuilder