St Kilda mangroves champion honoured at 2021 SA Environment Awards

A new award in memory of young environment campaigner Leif Justham was launched at the SA Environment Awards ceremony tonight.

3 June 2021

St Kilda mangroves champion honoured, Leif Justham memorial award launched at 2021 SA Environment Awards

A new award in memory of young environment campaigner Leif Justham was launched at the SA Environment Awards ceremony tonight.

Leif Justham, 21, tragically died in April while riding his bike around Australia to help raise awareness of environmental issues.

“Leif worked tirelessly to raise awareness of our country’s dependence on fossil fuels and encourage the use of renewable energy for the future of our planet,” said Conservation SA Chief Executive Craig Wilkins.

“With the support of Leif’s family, we are honoured to name this award on his behalf.”

The inaugural Leif Justham Young Achiever Award was jointly awarded to SA School Strike 4 Climate’s Amber Brock Fabel and First Nations environment and sustainability advocate Tiahni Adamson.

The major accolade of the night – the Jill Hudson Award for Environmental Protection – was won by ecologist Peri Coleman for her instrumental role in bringing attention to the plight of the St Kilda mangroves and saltmarsh.

“Peri’s impact, expertise and heart deeply align with those acknowledged by the Jill Hudson Award. She is a guiding light for those who act on behalf of our precious nature places,” said Mr Wilkins.

Kangaroo Island community conservation group Eco-Action KI and inspiring nature facilitator Jill Woodlands were joint winners of the Unsung Hero of the Year Award.

"Many environmental activists and conservationists go for years without recognition. Tonight was our opportunity to honour the work that these great South Australians do on behalf of all of us,” said the Conservation SA CE.

South Australia’s nature legends were also honoured in the fourth annual Lifetime Achiever Awards: respected Aboriginal Elder and environment champion Uncle Kevin Buzzacott; beloved environment campaigner Jasemin Rose; conservation leader and volunteer advocate David Mitchell AM; world-renowned author and marine scientist Dr Scoresby Shepherd AO; and legendary ornithologist and educator Joan Paton AM*. (*awarded posthumously)

“South Australia is blessed with so many wonderful people looking after our environment. It is such a thrill to acknowledge and celebrate their enormous contribution,” said Mr Wilkins.

The event was hosted by the Conservation Council of South Australia and sponsored by Adelaide Cemeteries Authority and Green Adelaide.


Media comment: Craig Wilkins, Conservation SA Chief Executive, 0417 879 439

Full list of winners:

Jill Hudson Award for Environmental Protection
Winner: Peri Coleman
Honourable mentions: Robyn Waite and Colin Wilson & Bev Maxwell

Leif Justham Young Achiever Award
Winners: Tiahni Adamson and Amber Brock-Fabel

Unsung Hero Award
Eco-Action KI and Jill Woodlands
Special Award: Lesley Easson

Lifetime Achiever Awards|
Uncle Kevin Buzzacott
David Mitchell AM
Jasemin Rose
Prof Scoresby Shepherd AO
Joan Paton AM (awarded posthumously)

Support us and get involved

Contact Conservation SA on (08) 8223 5155, [email protected], or at our offices at the Joinery at 111 Franklin Street, Adelaide.

Created using NationBuilder